4 Years on, my cancerversary


well, this week marks 4 years since I was diagnosed with Inflammatory breast cancer. (IBC)

A time for reflection, I’ve been wondering what my life would have been like without the c word. I’ve also been trying to work out whether I should be celebrating being NED (no evidence of disease)  or mourning for everything I have lost, hair, breast, confidence….

The upshot is I am very grateful to still be here, I am truly thankful for the love of my family and friends. I am humbled by the dignity and grace shown by some wonderful women I have met who are not as lucky as me, their cancer has spread, and in some cases they are terminally ill.

Having a rare cancer can be scary and lonely, but the power of the internet has meant I have connected with some inspirational women who have had IBC.

I also know that I am not the same, I feel compelled to use my experience to help other women. I am setting up a support group to help women rebuild their lives afer treatment has finished, I know what it is like to suffer with depression, and I hope that Confidence After Cancer can make a difference.

Cancer will not destroy me.

‘I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become’  Carl Gustav Jung

About gabbymottershead

Inflammatory Breast Cancer survivor and advocate, Breast Cacner UK ambassador, party animal, proud grandmother, mother to two wonderful sons, wife to Paul, loving life in Manchester, the best place on earth. Love my family, live music, my house rabbit and general shenanigans.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer, depression, gratitude, healing, inflammatory breast cancer, manchester, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 Years on, my cancerversary

  1. sherrysf says:

    I am so very glad to have crossed paths with you and congratulate you on this milestone. I can relate to so much you have written here. I plan to visit and check in often 🙂

Leave a Reply

