”I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.”-Maya Angelou ♥


That’s how I feel about my cancer, 5 years on I have no evidence of disease and I am very grateful to be alive. My body is not the same, after chemo, 3 surgeries and radiotherapy, and I am not the same either, not better, not worse, just different.

Many people talk about ‘getting back to normal’ but for me, I have to find a new kind of normal. I believe that cancer can be a wake up call, your body crying out for you to change. This is not to apportion blame, just accepting that I am responsible. Like many people  I didn’t  nurture myself enough, carrying guilt and shame, not caring enough to enjoy healthy nutrition, exercise and time to relax. Now I am very aware of when I need to take it easy, I no longer accept social invitations that I don’t want, I am happy to put my needs first. I was always too busy to look after myself, and too caught up in my work to take the time to feed my soul, with reading, meditating,  prayer and song.

I know that our bodies are constantly renewing themselves, cells die and are replaced. So we can change, old negative thought patterns can be changed. We can change what is not working for us, our bodies tell us what we need to do, sometimes we just need a shock, like a cancer diagnosis, to make us stop and take notice. And with that diagnosis comes time, to reflect, and to change and heal. Now is the time to return to the natural balance that supports good health.

The easiest way to start that change is simply to be grateful. As I go to sleep, and as I wake each morning, I give thanks for all my blessings, I am loved. All is well.

About gabbymottershead

Inflammatory Breast Cancer survivor and advocate, Breast Cacner UK ambassador, party animal, proud grandmother, mother to two wonderful sons, wife to Paul, loving life in Manchester, the best place on earth. Love my family, live music, my house rabbit and general shenanigans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ”I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.”-Maya Angelou ♥

  1. Emily Smith says:

    I am six years in remission and everything you have said above is true. You never totally recover, it changes everything but it does not change who you are inside. The exterior may be scarred and I may have a few more lines but the inside is still just as tough and determined as ever. I have had to understand that I can not control everthing and have to just deal with each step at a time. I am now battling anziety attacks, a result of a depletion of chemicals in the brain and am on medication to help. For a person who is used to being in totalt control, this has taken some undertsanding.But hey ho, it all adds to life. Keep smiling xxx

    • thanks for taking the time to reply Emily, I am sorry that you are still having problems, bloody cancer, the gift that keeps on giving. I hope you can keep smiling too, as they say life isn’t about waiting for the rain to stop, it’s about learning to dance in the rain. This is why I have big plans for support groups like Confidence After Cancer to continue to offer support after treatment, that’s when many feel so alone, friends and family want you to be better, but that doesn’t happen for many people. xxx

Leave a Reply

