How sharing my story helps me to heal


I have recently connected with some wonderful people I was asked to run a workshop at The National Conference of Self Help Groups in Manchester. I gave them a taster of my 9 step plan for recovery and I really enjoyed delivering it, and got great feedback. All so helpful to know that I am on the right path and that my work is useful.
I was also asked to write my story for Cancer Treatment.net . As well as the story of my diagnosis, treatment, struggles and recovery, I added a little bit about my troubled childhood. This was a scary thing for me to do, certainly in my corporate life I would never have disclosed this. For years I kept a professional persona at work, which whilst protecting me, also made me feel ashamed, and a little bit false.
I have listened to Brene Brown’s amazing TED talk on vulnerabilty, and it touched me. I have reflected long and hard on this and have realised that allowing myself to be vulnerable has given me a deeper understanding of myself and my relationships with others. Many people have commented on my post, saying how they had felt the same, and they thanked me for the connection and for speaking out. What a wonderful gift, this has turned into a source of strength for me, when I was afraid of appearing weak.
I have been coaching others on how to be themselves, and it is true, we teach what we need to learn. So I am still learning, and I am filled with wonder at how when we learn to be more compassionate to ourselves, we cannot help but be more loving to others.
Sharing my story has helped me to heal, helping others helps me, understanding others helps me understand myself and sharing love brings more love. How magical.

About gabbymottershead

Inflammatory Breast Cancer survivor and advocate, Breast Cacner UK ambassador, party animal, proud grandmother, mother to two wonderful sons, wife to Paul, loving life in Manchester, the best place on earth. Love my family, live music, my house rabbit and general shenanigans.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer, gratitude, healing, inflammatory breast cancer, manchester, natural healing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How sharing my story helps me to heal

  1. Thank you for sharing your story. As you may know, I am a huge believer in the power of sharing our stories. Revealing our vulnerabilities in our stories makes them all that much more powerful and hopefully more helpful to others as well. I’m going to listen to this TED talk right now. Thanks for all you do to help others.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  3. Sharing stories is such a good way to heal. I’m glad you’ve found this way to express and lighten 🙂 ~Catherine

  4. Susan says:

    I love the way you are sharing your story and doing so many things that will help others. Being open to allowing your vulnerability to come out is so powerful.

  5. bethgainer says:

    Gabby, this is a great posting, and your insight is spot-on: revealing vulnerability can be seen as a weakness, but in reality, it’s a strength. I believe some of the strongest posts are when we share our stories and our vulnerability. Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

