What Is PTSD And How Does It Affect Breast Cancer Survivors?


Love this post x

Breast Cancer Authority

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Breast Cancer

Dr. Robin Dilley, author of In A Moment’s Notice: A Psychologist’s Journey with Breast Cancer and licensed psychologist

Prior to my personal diagnosis with breast cancer, I was unaware that I had PTSD. I never had to examine my belief that everyone who gets cancer dies of cancer because that belief seemed normal to me. But in 1999 when I was diagnosed with Stage II estrogen positive breast cancer that belief was seriously in my way. This is what I learned about myself. Prior to the age of five I had a black nanny, Matt, that took care of me when my blue-collar hard working parents were working. I remember her sweet scent to this day. Before I could spend most of my hours at school, Matt had to leave me to take care of her sister who was dying from shhhh, “cancer.” Of course at the age of five…

View original post 918 more words

About gabbymottershead

Confidence and NLP Coach, Feng Shui enthusiast, Reiki healer, Inflammatory Breast Cancer survivor and advocate, Tropic skincare ambassador, party animal, proud grandmother, mother to two wonderful sons, wife to Paul, loving life in Manchester, the best place on earth. Love live music, my house rabbit and general shenanigans.
This entry was posted in inflammatory breast cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

